South West Governors

Contrary to federal government’s directive, the six South West states of Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun and Oyo have agreed to reopen schools to enable Senior Secondary School 3 students write the West African Senior School Certificate Examination (WASCE) in August.

Their decision was also in contrast with that of most of the 19 northern states, which supported the federal government’s decision to suspend school reopening for SSS 3 students due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

A statement by the DAWN Commission indicated that all the states would have reopened schools for SSS 3 students by August 3, with COVID-19 preventive measures put in place in each school.

According to the statement, the states will approach the Federal Government at the first instance seeking postponement of the WASSCE by at least three weeks from the proposed resumption date. At the second instance, states are to directly approach the West African Examinations Council (WAEC) to seek postponement of the examination to the week commencing August 24.

By Dez Mayorz

Am Flamboyant. Oku!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *