Ahmed Lawan senate president.

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), on Monday night has finally picked the current Senate Leader, Ahmad Lawan for the position of Senate President in the incoming ninth assembly.

According to reports, the selection came at a meeting President Muhammadu Buhari held on Monday with APC Senators-elect at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Lawan, a ranking senator from Yobe state, was the preferred candidate of the APC in 2015, but Bukola Saraki, with the support of the Peoples Democratic Party senators, dribbled the party, to emerge senate president, a scenario analyst say may be replayed if APC fails to put its house in order.

In attendance were the National Chairman of the APC, Adams Oshiomhole, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, APC Senators-elect and 11 serving governors of the party.


The governors are Kebbi, Zamfara, Plateau, Jigawa, Kaduna, Lagos, Osun, Oyo, Borno, Yobe and Kogi states, while Gov Rochas Okorocha was conspicuously missing.

By Dez Mayorz

Am Flamboyant. Oku!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *